Refund for one person in cruise party 2022? (tickets bought before COVID) HELP!

bravetummy

Earning My Ears
Forewarning, I am new at all of this. So, my partner and their parent and I bought tickets for a Disney cruise in December of 2019, and were set to sail in May of 2020. That obviously did not happen. I would personally like my $1,000 back, but that is apparently impossible.

After my partner's parent was on the phone with the cruise line for maybe 5 hours, this is what I have been told they learned:
  • Since I am a member of the party, I apparently am not able to get my sole ticket that I paid for back in 2019 refunded anymore if I choose to not go.
  • We would have a new sailing date of July 2022 for a 9-night cruise outside of the US. Rates have apparently gone up, and I will need to pay extra $ to even go.
  • The only way anyone gets a refund is if everyone cancels, and the deposit placed will be lost.
  • If I do not go, there are other fees that must now be usurped by the other party members.
Does any of this seem correct or right or even legal? Or did I receive misinformation? It does not feel right. I almost want to call the cruise line myself and ask these questions but I am afraid they will notify my partner's parent of my call-- is that a thing? I may just be anxious. Please help!

Cruises don't have tickets. They have fares. But yes that's pretty standard stuff you've quoted above and def not illegal, imo. (As much as you find it frustrating) You had a cruise booked for a certain amount of people which was cancelled during covid? Was it was turned into a future cruise credit? There is no way to divide that cruise credit up which is why they can't just refund your portion. And, every single year cruise fares increase...so yes you would have to make up the difference of the price of the 2022 cruise.