• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

Tell me how much you love your camera!

My<3BelongsToMickey

Earning My Ears
Because I hate mine!

Hi everyone! I am in the market for a new camera... I'm not looking to get too fancy, I'm really just looking for a quality point and shoot. I was debating whether or not to just invest in a larger, higher quality DSLR camera and start making it more of a hobby, but I'm not sure I'm ready to take the leap yet. And in the mean time, I just need a good camera.

Currently, I have Canon PowerShot SD750, from 2008 I believe. It had excellent consumer reviews at the time, but I hate it. It takes awful night-time photos (I realize this is a phenomenon that not everyone/ camera can master, and I admit I am no camera genius, but I'm no novice either.) And it also has begun to take blurry pictures, despite my steady, 23-year old hand.

I feel like just about everyone swears by Canon, and if you are one of those people, convince me not to jump ship and head to Nikon or something.

Even better, if you have any models you would suggest, I'd appreciate it!

For a pocket size point and shoot, I love my Panasonic Lumix. I purchased it after a recommendation from a professional photograher. Per the expert, it has the best lens of any small point and shoot. Since the, my father, my neighbor, my neighbor's mom and 2 co-workers have also purchased it. It takes great pictures (including night time portraits).

The key to a night time landscape picture though is a tri-pod. No camera, even with stability control can take a great night time picture unless you either put the camera on a tripod or place it on something steady. The shutter stays open for a long time on a night time landscape picture. The human hand just has too much shake.