WDW Experiences w/ PDD (autistic like behaviors) child...

prcoamo

Mouseketeer
Hello. Newbie here. Very 1st time for both of us going to WDW.
I have a 6 (soon to be 7) yr old daughter who is PDD(w/ autistic like behaviors). She has language, expresses some needs, does not have any behavioral/control issues. Looking at her she outwardly seems like a normal child, one would think that she was just extremely shy, but it goes much deeper than that. She does suffer in outside social communication, has sensory issues/sensory overload can be hypersensitive to her surroundings at times (i.e. does not like loud noises so fireworks would be out)and can somewhat tolerate large group settings however I'm afraid it may get little overwhelming for her at the parks.

I was hoping that someone would be able to share any experiences they have had w/ taking a child similar to her special needs to WDW? Such as experiences in parks, which hotel accomodadtions they chose. Also, I've read about obtaining a letter from the child's family doctor outlining the medical condition your child suffers from and their needs, and then obtaining a "Special Needs Pass" or "GAC" pass. How do these passes exactly work? What is difference, if any, between the two?

Many thanks :flower:

I have read that you should do the following...
Have your doctor write a letter similair to this...

"__________is a wonderful child who has been diagnosed with ____________.
She is especially sensitive to (noises, crowds)_____________. She struggles with sensory issues...etc. This can affect her ability to wait in long lines. Please make any accomodations possible for this child and her family."

Take this letter to Guest Relations in the park to get a Guest Assistance card. If they do not give you one, ask to see a manager.
Also, get a "Guests with disabilities guide" to alert you to rides with loud noises, etc.