Where to start?

Duckyiam71

DIS Veteran
Hi I am new to the camping world. Dont get me wrong..I love to camp and we have been 5 times but still new compared to some of you. So my husband and I have decided to forgo our Disney cruise next year and see the some of the West. We live in El Paso, TX and will be driving up to the Grand Canyon, Petrified Forest and Bryce's National Forest. Has anybody ever stayed at campgrounds in this area? We will most likely be tent camping unless we get a pop up from military post. I am excited to plan a trip and focus on fun things as he is still deployed. Believe it or not, it was his idea to camp tent after a year of "roughing" it with the Army. Any help is greatly appreciated!

This thread would do better on the regular camping board. Have a great trip.

I love the Southwest. We did a cross country camping trip a few years ago. I think the planning part is fun. We have a giant laminated map that we mark the places we want to visit. I use Microsoft Streets and Trips to help plan the route and then I use my AAA guide books to find things to see along the way. Check out www.grandcircle.org, there is lots of info and a place to request a free travel guide.

We camped in our fifth wheel so someone else may be able to offer some better ideas for tents. We camped at the KOA in Holbrook when we visited the Petrified Forest. It was your basic KOA nothing fancy just convienient. Holbrook also has a Wigwam motel that looks cool. At the Grand Canyon your best bet is one of the National park campgrounds. We stayed in Trailer Village but Mather is better for tents. It is right in the park and then you can use the shuttle system to get around. The NP campground at Bryce was full when we were there but if we went back I would try to stay there. I would also recommend a stop at Zion NP while you are out there. The NP campground was beautiful, right on the river and easy to use the shuttle system.