Which backpack/carrier?

tmarquez

DIS Veteran
I've never used a baby backpack or carrier before but alot of people are suggesting it for my upcoming trip with my 8 1/2 month old.

Any suggestions on which is best? Hopefully something lightweight and cool since we're going in the middle of summer.

Thanks much!

I was just at the parks with DH and DD, 9 months. We used the Baby Bjorn, a carrier that many posters recommended to me when I asked the same question. They're a little more expensive than other carriers (retail $79.99) But I got mine off of ebay for about $30 less, and it's great. I used it at the airport, and when DD was getting too fussy in her stroller. We also used it in places where strollers were not allowed. Sometimes she got too heavy for me, so most of the time DH was carrying her in it. She really loved it, and didn't seem to be bothered by the heat. It was pretty hot when we went last week. I would definitely recommend that you get one, you have no idea how much of a lifesaver it can be for a child that age! Good luck! If you have any questions, please feel free to PM me. I found that tips from other mothers are very valuable.

I prefer a front carrier over a backpack type carrier. I'm only 5'3" and the backpack carrier was too much for me to handle. I would bring both a front carrier and a stroller so you have the option.

We love our Baby Bjorn! We also have a Kelty backpack kid carrier, but I wouldn't bring it to the parks. It's too big & bulky. The great thing about the baby bjorn (or most front carriers) is that you can still sit while wearing it. So if baby fell asleep, for example, you could still sit in a chair & eat, or go to a theater show. Some people even wear them on rides. :)