How hard to book DVC resorts?

disneydreamingdebby

DVC Member
We are preparing to join DVC: :cool1:

I would love to hear feedback from current DVC members regarding:

Summer (late June/ July/ early August) Reservations:
(1) how hard is it to secure a reservation at your home resort 11 months out?
(2)a different dvc resort 7 months out?
(3)any dvc resort 4 months out?

I am a teacher, and my husband can't confirm vacation dates until 4 or 5 months before. '

Thanks!

We booked a studio 6 months ago for next week and the only thing available was OKW and SSR. We have been on a waiting list at BCV for 6 months and nothing came through.

Last year we were able to get AKV Concierge 1 bedroom at 7 months for late June. This year I got AKV Kidani studio at 7 months for mid-June. You should not have a problem at 11 months for that time, 7 months depends on the resort & room type. 4 months is iffy, OKW & SSR are usually available.

I would book a "best guess" by 7 months and then try to work with it.

We were able to book our AKV studio in April for 1st week of August (4 months out). We then were able to change to BWV in June (2 months out).

This was our first DVC stay so I don't know if I was lucky or its typical but it is obviously possible.

We are here now and have stayed BWV, BLT, and just checked in to VWL for our last 3 nights. BLT is FABULOUS and I will always book there at 11 months, but VWL is taking a close 2nd and I love what I have seen so far its possible split stays may be a yearly thing (did three this time so we could try things out).

We were able to get a 2 bdr savanah view mid april for a September 19th visit, for a week, at Jambo house, first call.

I am a teacher, and my husband can't confirm vacation dates until 4 or 5 months before. '

it's very rarely difficult to get your home resort at exactly 11 months out (AKV concierge and anything at the smaller resorts on NYE are exceptions).