Interesting observation about the cost of DDP

Lesley

DIS Veteran
Back in 1994 my dh and I planned a budget trip to WDW. I graduated from college the week before our trip and I had budgeted almost down to the penny. I saved all my babysitting income and money from my summer job the previous year (summer camp counselor at Core Creek Park in Langhorne PA) and anything extra I could save from my regular teaching assisstant job. We saved extra money my dh got from doing extra drafting work. We flew Spirit airlines from Atlantic City NJ. We chose to stay on property at CBR since we were not old enough to rent a car (staying off property on our honeymoon had proved difficult). We took the Mears shuttle to WDW. This was before the internet....so I looked up all the info I needed from books, mainly Birnbaum's and the Unofficial Guide.

When I carefully planned our food and souvenir budget I decided we'd need about $100 a day to have a really great time and not worry constantly during the vacation about our budget. That was $40 per day for each of us for food and $20 per day collectively for souvenirs (a tshirt each, some fridge magnets, and, as it turned out...a little something for our baby as I had a + pregnancy test the weekend I graduated!).

The food budget broke down like this-
$40 each per day-
$10 each for breakfast and lunch, $20 each for dinner

That budget worked out perfectly and I think we came back with a few dollars to spare.

The point I'm making, if you haven't seen it for yourself yet, is that the DDP in its current incarnation actually costs less than what we budgeted for food in 1994....that's 12 years ago!

Of course, we now have an 11yo ds...another adult on the plan...and two dd's...so its not like our budget is the same. But when I look at the DDP in comparison to our 1994 trip, it really looks like a bargain!