Laurie's Quest Continues....two more marathons in one year!!

hockeygirl

DIS Veteran
Ok, so I never thought I would do something like this, but hey, reading all of the other WISH journals has made me more motivated than ever! For years, I have told myself that I want to run a marathon. My family tells me I am crazy that I would never be able to do it, but I know I can if I really train for it. So, last year at this time, I told myself I was going to train for the 2007 full marathon....but due to a variety of roadblocks early on in the year, it just didn't happen. Well, I am determined to change that this year. And my goal is to finish the 2008 WDW Marathon!!!! And I am trying anything to keep me motivated, including keeping this WISH journal!!

A little about me: I am 31 years old. I am a physical education teacher, who loves to play ice hockey for fun in my spare time. In high school, I ran track and I have kept it up on and off over the years. I consider myself to be in decent shape....not great, but not bad. I could spare to lose a few pounds, and I hope through this journey I can lose about 10 pounds. I have a dBF that is so supportive and is one of the few people close to me that really believes that I can do this and I truly believe he will support me the entire way!! I am trying to convince him to do it with me but not sure that will happen....but I will keep trying.

So, I started training this week. My goal for now is to just build up a base, since I haven't been running in the recent past. I started on saturday and I have done three workouts so far:

saturday: 1.92 miles in 21:08 min. (10:57 pace)
Sunday: 2.07 miles in 22:08 min. (10:41 pace)
Monday: REST
Tuesday (Today): 2.31 miles in 24:22 min. (10:30 pace)
wed: 2.3 miles
thurs: 2.3 miles
Fri: rest