Portable PA worn by cast members

zinberry

Earning My Ears
I have an obscure question -- At the WDW theme parks I have seen cast members wear a portable PA "public address" speaker on their belt with a wired headset that has a microphone. The cast members that wear this device are often directing crowds before parades or fireworks shows. It allows their voices to be amplified and still be mobile. It was used most memorably when my family sat in front of the DS Great Movie Ride Theater, waiting for the Jingle Bell, Jingle BAM show, by a cast member named Jeff (I think) who told jokes and trivia and kept us entertained for the hour before the show. He didn't have to strain his voice because he was using the PA device. And, it's not loud and annoying like a bullhorn.

My friend's wife is an ER doctor. With all of the PPE our medical heroes are now wearing, the masks (especially the N100 mask she has) obscures her voice and makes it difficult to delivery verbal instructions to the team. I was thinking that the portable PA system might be well suited for her. I'm having trouble finding a model online that looks like what I've seen the cast members wear. Does anyone have any information about what manufacturer or model of portable PA that WDW cast members use?

Google personal pa worn on belt and you get a few results. I'd post some results but I've gotten in trouble for posting links in the past.

The belt-worn personal speaker used by the security cast members at Walt Disney World is the Premium TK-180C, the World's Best Voice Amplification System for the past 15 years. It sometimes shows up with the brand name Edge Audio or Turtle Amplification Systems.

This personal PA speaker is in a black leather style case and it has nine rounded squares on the left side. A wired headset microphone plugs into the device and is worn by a cast member who is able to speak at a comfortable conversation level, instead of having to yell or raise their voice.