TheSecondCook on vacation...

TheSecondCook

Now known as "TheFirstCook"
...Yup, I'm on a much needed and deserved vacation right now. It's really nice to actually have a day off where I'm neither at work or school; too bad it takes vacation time to do so. Anyhoo, I'll be back on Christmas Eve, so I'll see you all after that. It's a good thing I'm spending time with my family now, cause I won't get to on or around the holidays. Working for a theme park really sucks, you know.

I hope you enjoy your vacation. I am somewhat discouraged about your feelings about working at a theme park and your willingness to express that opinion with people that support your employment. You should consider whether or not you are working in a field you truly enjoy. If you are not, you are doing both yourself and your customers a disservice.

Have a great time off, SC, I'm just glad you'll be there when I'm there!

Earl, I think I do understand what he means. I work in the radio industry and it's 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. I love working here but I HATE being called in at midnight or the days we have to work while the rest of the world takes off. It's the nature of the beast. I do understand that it's a commitment, though, but it took me years to commit.

I was at Mythos last Saturday and tried to look you up -- after an AWESOME risotto with rolled chicken! Chef Mark told me you were away.

How does it feel to be a celeb?

Earl-
I don't really know how to counter your post; I've tried typing a couple times only to delete the message. My mood about working in the theme park industry is up and down just like its business. One moment I'm proud to be in a company that's bigger than I am, providing outstanding experiences for thwe millions of guests that visit each year. Then reality kicks in and I realize that I'm underpaid, underappreciated and lost in this world.