Whats your major?

I just got my degree in Elementary Education, but I am currently in school to get my Masters. I was told if you don't go back to school right away, you lose the motivation. Plus, money is lacking in the teaching profession, so having a Masters will help boost salary. Not that I'm in the profession for the money.

My UG major was Business Administration and I focused in Marketing and Management Science.
Why? Because I was working as an office manager and told that I'd get a big promotion when I completed the degree.... finished the degree, didn't get promoted as promised... quite, then went back to school...

My MS was in Computer Science with a focus in Computer Information Systems.
Why? Because it was semi-business related and I really enjoyed working with computers. I hoped to finished the program and then teach at the community college level, or find a nice programming job. Yeah, that didn't work out either... sucky job market when I graduated. I ended up working as a database analyst at the college I graduated from. Fortunately, they offer tuition assistance, so I figured I might as well work on another degree while I'm here...

Now, I'm working on a PhD in Higher Education.
Why? Because the school is paying for it and I have moved into an administrative position in higher education. I enjoy the working in this environment and figured I needed the PhD to advance any further and get the higher salaries!

dementia412 said:
Major Anthropology
Minor History

Why? Because I was sucked in by Indiana Jones! :goodvibes No, really because I love learning about the humanity. Don't ask what I'm gonna do with THAT major. :confused3

I also am an anthropology major. And don't worry Dementia, there are so many jobs out there who would love an employee with an anthro background...cultural competency & awareness, globalism--- two parts of anthro which have hugggee importance right now!

As for me, I want to study epidemiology after I get my BA.

Aimros said: