Trans couple too afraid to go to Florida - how accepting is Disneyland?

Status
Not open for further replies.
We're in Delaware so WDW is significantly closer to us, but we're both way too afraid to set foot in Florida. My wife brought up the idea of going to Disneyland in California. How accepting are they? I just assume we'd be safer there than in Florida.
I’m no expert on Florida in general, but I would have to agree with your assessment. You’d certainly be safe in the WDW bubble however, the visitor make-up is an unknown quantity from day to day. DLR is primarily So. Cal locals comprised of a very diverse mix of folks.

We're in Delaware so WDW is significantly closer to us, but we're both way too afraid to set foot in Florida. My wife brought up the idea of going to Disneyland in California. How accepting are they? I just assume we'd be safer there than in Florida.

Coastal Southern CA is VERY LGBTQ+ friendly, overall. Disneyland is a VERY safe place for you to visit. I understand your hesitation to travel to FL right now. You have nothing to worry about if you decide to come to Disneyland. In general, the vibe over here (I am local to DL) is "anything goes" and people just live and let live. You will feel welcomed. DL locals are a friendly, accepting bunch.

Floridians are generally law abiding people and millions of people visit WDW from EVERYWHERE IN THE WORLD so if WDW is where you want to go, just go.

Your concern is totally legitimate. I’m gay and, as others have said, feel 100% safe at WDW and think you would too. Disney will not tolerate hate or abuse. My partner and I held hands all over property on our last WDW trip around New Year’s. I think DL is the same; I don’t live in Orange County, CA, which is historically very conservative but changing. Others would have to give input on Orange County, CA off Disney property.